Monthly Archives: February 2013

A Date Which Will Live In Infamy

Date string conversion is fairly painless in JavaScript but sometimes the sheer number of options can be a little annoying to remember.  Below is a table of date display/conversion functions generated from

new Date(“2013-02-19T21:03:39.818Z”).

Hopefully this is helpful to someone else who doesn’t want to look up the output of each of these options.  One more note, these are outputs for US locals in the Central time-zone; other locals and other time-zones would very accordingly.

Date Function Output
 toString() Tue Feb 19 2013 15:03:39 GMT-0600 (CST)
toDateString()  Tue Feb 19 2013
toGMTString() Tue, 19 Feb 2013 21:03:39 GMT
toISOString() 2013-02-19T21:03:39.818Z
 toUTCString()  Tue, 19 Feb 2013 21:03:39 GMT
toTimeString() 15:03:39 GMT-0600 (CST)
 toLocaleString() Tue 19 Feb 2013 03:03:39 PM CST
 toLocaleDateString()  02/19/2013
 toLocaleTimeString()  03:03:39 PM
 toJSON()  2013-02-19T21:03:39.818Z
 valueOf()  1361307819818
toSource() (new Date(1361307819818))